Paul Rudd’s New Abs

Heather Nowlin
4 min readJul 9, 2018
© Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Damn, formerly frumpy Paul Rudd! Nice abs! Is this show called Ant-Man or Abs-Man? I never knew you had it in you.

I’ve always been a Paul Rudd fan. His goofy cuteness and his buffoonish ridiculousness strike a certain chord that I’m not terribly proud of having. I’ll gladly watch his raunchy movies any day of the week, because he has a certain charm that transcends bathroom humor. He comes across as likable and affable in a guy-next-door kind of way that we all appreciate.

Obviously I’m not alone in this assessment. My friend Tori says, “He’s so cute, I just wanna put him in my little pocket!” My friend Brandon and I celebrate a more-than-annual tradition we call “Ruddmas” (or Ruddmas Eve, All Hollows’ Rudd, Dia de los Rudds… you get the idea). There are no hard and fast rules for Ruddmas, but it’s basically a way for us to signal to each other that we’re ready to watch a ridiculous raunchy movie that stars a cute guy while drinking just a little bit too much.

We celebrate this holiday quite often.

Mr. Rudd’s recent foray into the Marvel world has not only allowed him an opportunity to forego the raunch factor in a movie or two, it’s also given him the “superhero warcry” that I assume all celebrities feel when cast as a DC or Marvel character: Back to the gym, then! And I noticed while viewing Ant-Man and the Wasp (okay, seriously…

--

--

Heather Nowlin

Favorite topics: politics, mental health, travel, business/the office, humans, dogs, empathy, pop culture, movies, books, TV, plays, theatre.